V2 Form Builder: Form Settings

 

Note: This feature is coming soon and is not yet generally available.

About

The form settings screen gives you the ability to edit a number of your form's properties, ranging from general information about the form to workflow settings. Any changes made will be saved to a new version of the form.

2017-06-20-v2fb-FormSettings01.png

[ top ]

 

Form Information

This is where you can add or edit general information about the form. This is also accessible by selecting the edit button next to the form name in the upper navigation bar. Editable properties include:

  • Form Name: The identifying name for your form, e.g. Vehicle Inspection
  • Form Description
  • Tags: While form tags have multiple uses, the primary use is to allow sorting and/or filtering of forms in a mobile device. Mobile users can select a form tag and only show those forms that have been tagged with the appropriate phrase.

[ top ]

 

Mobile App Settings

The mobile app settings section controls what form-related information is visible to your mobile users. These include Sent Box Option, Form Options, and Image Options.

2017-06-21-v2FB-FormSettingsMobileApp.png

 

Sent Box Options

These options apply to teams with the Sent box enabled. 

Max Data Records in Sent Box

This setting controls the maximum number of submissions of the specified form only held in the Sent tab. Enter "0"  to disable storage of items in the Sent box.  To remove restrictions, leave the field blank.

Note:  This setting does not affect the number of submissions of other forms held in the Sent tab. 

Days in the Sent Box

This is how long form submissions will be held in the Sent box. To remove restrictions, leave the field blank.  Note that form submissions are removed from the portal after 45 days, and will also be removed from the Sent box at this time.

Form Options

The summary page allows a mobile user to quickly review form data before submitting the form on their device. This is useful for checking that all data has been entered correctly, or for showing a customer a view of all data entered before asking them to sign off. Users can share the summary page if the box labelled Allow users to share summary page is selected. Viewing a summary does not submit the form.

Image Options

Save photos captured in app to the user's camera roll: If needed, enable this option to allow mobile users to save photos taken within ProntoForms (for a Camera or Image question, for example) for use outside the app. This will use device storage space and is often best left disabled.

 

[ top ]

 

Documents

This section deals with documents, or methods of displaying the contents of your form submission in various ways. The documents selected here will be made available for download via the web portal, through the API, and the Sent Box of the mobile app rather than being automatically sent to a Data Destination. 

Select which documents you wish to make available in this manner from the dropdown.
2017-12-05-V2FB-AddDocument.png

For more information on documents, the Sent Box, the Data Tab on the web portal, and the API:

[ top ]

 

Workflow Settings

This section controls the allowed interactions between the home office and the mobile user. These can range from edits to existing form submissions, dispatches, to using the Inbox on the mobile app.

2017-06-21-v2FB-FormSettingsWorkflow.png

 

Inbox and Dispatch

By default, dispatching is disabled and forms can only be started by a user from the Forms tab.  To enable dispatching, select Allow form to be dispatched to mobile users' Inbox.  

  • Also allow form to be launched by mobile user from the Forms box: In addition to filling out dispatched forms, users will be able to start new, fresh form submissions from their Forms box. If this option is not selected, the form will not show up in their Forms box, and will only appear in their Inbox when they receive a dispatch.
  • Mobile user is allowed to decline forms dispatched to them: When enabled, this option allows users to remove any dispatch of this form they receive from their inbox.  Declined data records are visible in the Data tab of the ProntoForms web portal.  They are distinguished from completed data records by a red arrow icon.

 

If you do not select one of the above sub-options, the form will only be visible when an administrator submits a dispatch to a user's Inbox. Mobile users will not be able to start a new submission of this form themselves.   

 

Editing

ProntoForms allows your team to edit form submissions. There are two ways to initiate an edit: from the web portal, or in the mobile app.  All editing of form submissions is done in the mobile app. The ability to edit form submissions is configured at the form level, giving you control over which forms you want to allow your users to edit.

Allow web portal users to send form submissions back to mobile users for editing: When enabled, edits can be initiated from the web portal.

  • Also allow mobile users to edit form submission directly from the Sent box: When enabled, users can initiate edits of submitted forms from their Sent box. 

Forms sent for editing are unable to be declined, unlike standard dispatches. For more detailed information on this feature, please read: Editing Form Submissions

[ top ]

 

Advanced Properties

Data Record Naming

Enter a Naming Expression to customize the name of the form in the mobile app. This expression will affect:

  • Dispatched forms in the mobile app "Inbox"

  • Data Records saved on the device in the "Drafts" screen

  • Items in the "Outbox" and "Sent" Tab

Read more about Data Record Naming in the mobile app.

Note: Data Record Naming does not affect the naming of form submissions. Learn how to customize naming of data records in data destinations. 

 

Advanced Options

Collect Geo Location: 

Automatically collect a form-level GeoStamp that will be hidden from the user.  With Collect Geo Location enabled, a geo stamp question does not need to be added to the form for a geo location to be collected.

Enable Data Record Passthrough: 

If selected, no submitted form data will be saved in the ProntoForms system, only a record of where the data went.  This is a useful setting for organizations who collect sensitive information, but it is only recommended for use in cases where it is necessary, as this setting limits the ability of the ProntoForms team to troubleshoot, etc.

  • NOTE:  When a form has this feature enabled, it is very important to have at least two different types of data destinations handling all data from the form, even if one destination is simply a backup.  If a data destination fails for any reason (such as incorrect authentication, a failure/outage of your chosen destination service, etc) with passthrough turned on, ProntoForms cannot recover any of your missing data. Therefore, you cannot enable this feature unless you have at least two destinations configured.

Maximum Submission Size:

This is useful for forms that capture image files, which can be quite large.  Choosing this option will help avoid problems in transmission and minimize the impact to data plan usage.  We recommend a maximum of 2 MB for best performance on all devices.   This is the default value.

 

Unique Reference Number

When building a form, it is possible to attach a customized unique reference number to the form submission to ensure each filename is different and easily recalled. This can be useful when customizing how your data shows up in the Data tab in the web portal.

 

Reference Number Prefix

The reference number prefix will be shown before the reference number.  The form submission's name will contain this prefix in the web portal. Manually downloaded documents will also contain this prefix in the file name.  The prefix can be any string of text, but is often the form name.  Data Record Expression Language cannot be used in the prefix.

[ top ]

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments