Managing Users

 

About

The Users & Groups tab in the ProntoForms web portal provides administrative access to all users defined in a ProntoForms team.  A list of users can be accessed by clicking on the Users & Groups tab. Click on a user's Display Name in order to access that user's profile.

Within each user profile, there are several tabs: Account, Permissions, Devices, and Activity.

  • The Account tab displays information about the user, such as contact information, user activity, and user preferences.
  • The Permissions tab displays the Groups that the user belongs to, as well as, the user's specific role within each group.  
  • The Devices tab displays a list of the mobile devices that ProntoForms has registered to the user.
  • The Activity tab displays statistics about the user's activities, such as Data Record submissions.

Note:  When setting up a user account, a user must be added to a Group and then the Group assigned to a FormSpace. This will grant the user access to the Forms within that FormSpace through their Group.

[ top ]

 

admin.pngnouser.pngnomobile.png

Add User

In teams created directly through ProntoForms, an Admin can add users without contacting sales and support.  Teams created through cellular carrier partners typically have each login automatically created once the ProntoForms feature is added to a particular line by the cellular carrier.  In these cases, new ProntoForms accounts MUST be added by the cellular carrier.

  1.  Mouse over the Users & Groups tab and select Create User.
    user_create.png
  2.  Required fields are highlighted with an asterisk; they include: username, e-mail address, and role. Typically, the Username is identical to the user's Email address.  This is not required, but is recommended for straightforward management of users.
    • There are 3 different types of Roles: 

      • Mobile-Only User:

        • Mobile-only users can submit forms from their mobile devices.
        • Can change their own password from the web portal, but have no other access to administration tools.
      • User:  

        • This is the standard role for a typical field user.  As with a Mobile-Only user, a User can submit forms from mobile devices, but they can also log into the portal to view their submitted data records.  They will see their own submitted data.  
        • With advanced permissions configured, a User can also view and modify other users' permissions.
        • Can change their own password from the web portal.
      • Admin:

        • Is the highest level of access to a ProntoForms team.
        • Can view Data Records from all users on their team from the web portal.
        • Can create/edit/delete forms from the web portal.
        • Can manage all Forms, FormSpaces, Users, Groups, and Data in their team from the web portal.
  3. New users will be automatically added to Production Group.  If you would like to attach the user to a different pre-existing Group, then use the right_arrow.jpg button to move the selected group from Available Groups to Attached Groups. Read Add User to Group below if you wish add Groups later.

    Learn how to add users to different groups automatically. 
     
  4. You will also notice that there are other tabs, such as Billing, Contact, and Preferences. The information within these tabs are automatically populated with default values. However, should you wish to edit these values, then each tab is described below.
    • Billing - Billing method for the user's account.
    • Contact - User's contact information.
    • Preferences - Timezone, language, etc.
  5. After completing the required fields, click the create_button.jpg button.

    Note: If the Send Welcome Email on Create check-box is selected, the user will be e-mailed a welcome message upon creation. This e-mail will include a generated password for the user if Generate Password is also selected. If you would prefer to define the user's password, then uncheck the Generate Password check-box and set the password manually.

[ top ]

 

admin.pngnouser.pngnomobile.png

Add User to Group

  1. Select the Users & Groups tab.
  2. Select the Display Name of the user that you wish to edit. This will bring up that user's profile.
  3. Select the Permissions tab within the user's profile.
  4. Click the user_addupdategroup.jpg button. You will see a list of groups to which the user belongs.
  5. Click the user_addgroup.jpg button.
  6. Select the desired Group from the drop-down menu.
  7. After applying the desired changes, click the update.jpg button.
Learn more about User Permissions within a group.

[ top ]

 

admin.pnguser.pngmobile.png

Change User Password

All users are capable of changing their own password. Admins also have the ability to change the user password of any member of their team.

Need to ensure users' passwords are secure?  Learn about setting password policies for teams.

For Admins:

  1. Select the Users & Groups tab.
  2. Select the Display Name of the user that you wish to edit. This will bring up that user's profile.
  3. Click the changepassword.png button.
  4. Enter and confirm the new Password.
  5. After applying the desired changes, click the update.jpg button.

 

For Users & Mobile-Only Users:

  1. Mouse over your username in the top right corner, and select User Profile.

     user_profile.png

  2. Click the changepassword.png button.
  3. Enter your Current Password and then set your New Password.
  4. After applying the desired changes, click the update.jpg button.

[ top ]

 

admin.pnguser.pngmobile.png

Update User 

At any point, user information and roles can be updated by the Admin. Users and Mobile-Only Users have the ability to change their own user information but cannot affect their own role.

For Admins:

  1. Select the Users & Groups tab.
  2. Select the Display Name of the user that you wish to edit. This will bring up that user's profile.
  3. From the <username> drop-down menu, select Update.

     user_update.jpg

  4. After applying the desired changes, click the update.jpg button.

For Users & Mobile-Only Users:

  1. Select your own username as displayed next to the "Logged in as:" label. This will bring up your user profile.

     user_profile.png

  2. From the <username> drop-down menu, select Update.

    user_update_nonadmin.jpg 

  3. After applying the desired changes, click the update.jpg button.

[ top ]

 

admin.pngnouser.pngnomobile.png

Delete User

Admins can delete users from their team.

  1. Select the Users & Groups tab.
  2. Select the Display Name of the user that you wish to delete. This will bring up that user's profile.

  3. From the <username> drop-down menu, select Delete.
    user_delete.jpg 

  4. A pop-up window will appear to confirm your action. Click OK to delete the user.

[ top ]

 

admin.pngnouser.pngnomobile.png

Latest Portal Logins

Admins can view the Lastest Portal Logins of the users in their team. This will display the login statistics for a user, such as the date/time of logins, whether logins were successful or not, and the location of the user during logins.

  1. Select the Users & Groups tab.
  2. Select the Display Name of the user that you wish to view. This will bring up that user's profile.
  3. From the <username> drop-down menu, select Latest Portal Logins.

    user_latestportallogins.jpg 

[ top ]

 

admin.pngnouser.pngnomobile.png

Export a List of Users

Admins can export a list of users in their team as a CSV file. The data will include all users and their user information and can be very useful for managing large teams.

  1. Mouse over the Users & Groups tab.
  2. Select "List Users."
  3. From the Users drop-down menu, select Export users to CSV.

    export.jpg 

 

Sample Export Data

2017-07-25-UserExport.png

 

Information Included:

  • User Information: user ID, username, First Name, Last Name, Company, Role, Groups, user alias pairs.
  • Contact Info Fields: Email, Alternate Email, Phone Number
  • Account Information:  Device, Billing Info, Suspended (True/False), Created Time, Last Modified Time, Preferred Time Zone
  • Activity Information:  Last Login, Last Reconcile
  • Security Information: Locked State (Locked / Not Locked), Password Expiry Date, Password Status (Expired / Not Expired).

[ top ]

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments