Why is my account locked?

 

About

In the interests of keeping your data safe, user accounts will be locked after ten consecutive failed password attempts. This will prevent these users from logging in or accessing, filling out, or sending forms. This article discusses how to recognize when your account has been locked, how to unlock it yourself, and who else can unlock locked accounts.

[ top ]

 

Web Portal Error Message

If you enter the incorrect password too many times on the web portal, your account will be locked, and the message displayed above the Username field will read:

"Account locked due to too many failed login attempts. Please press "Lost Password?" or contact your administrator."

For more information on how and where to reset your password, please read: Forgot Your Password?

[ top ]

 

Mobile App Error Message

Entering the wrong password ten times in a row on the mobile app will also lock the user's account. The error message will read:

Authentication Failed. There's a problem with your username and password.

For more information on how and where to reset your password, please read: Forgot Your Password?

[ top ]

 

Unlock Your Account by Resetting Your Password

You can unlock your account by requesting a password reset email be sent to the email address associated with your username. If you do not have access to this email account, or do not have an email address associated with your username, you will have to contact your ProntoAdmin to have your password reset.

The email sent to the account associated with your username will provide a link to reset your password. Once you successfully log in, your account is unlocked.

For more information on how and where to reset your password, please read: Forgot Your Password?

[ top ]

 

ProntoAdmins: How to Unlock A User's Account

If a locked user does not have access to the email address associated with their account, or does not have an email address associated with their account, a ProntoAdmin must manually unlock the account for them. To do this:

  1. Log into the ProntoAdmin account.
  2. Navigate to the affected user's User Profile.


  3. In the dropdown menu next to their username, select Force Unlock.


  4. Select Okay when asked, "Are you sure you want to unlock this user?"
  5. Verify that the user has been unlocked and the warning banner is gone.


  6. OptionalFor data security, it is best to reset the user's password after they have been locked. To do this, follow the instructions available in: Change User Password in the Web Portal.

[ top ]

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments