0

Disable discard fuction for certain users

Hi all,

Even with discard/send notifications turned on we're having instances of users deleting all their data instead of submitting it.  We'd like to disable the discard function entirely (either via the prontoforms app settings or via the portal for certain users).  This would leave them with the only option of to save into drafts or submit it (can still be manually deleted from drafts).

Thank you

Nathan

4 comments

  • 0
    Avatar
    Danielle Morley

    Hi Nathan,

    Thanks for this request.  We're not super keen on removing the discard option, but I'm having our design team look into the way that we currently enable "discard" to see if there might be some improvements we could make there, to prevent this from happening.  The usability of our mobile apps is always a core concern of ours, and clearly accidentally deleting data is an issue.

    What platform are the users who are accidentally deleting data on? iOS, Android, Windows? 

  • 0
    Avatar
    Nathan Lewis

    Hi Danielle,

    Thank you.

    We are using android.

    To elaborate a little: One of our users yesterday spend four hours scanning/recording parts (etc) and as she rushed to lunch she mashed the wrong button (and the warning message). The problem for us is that these parts usually enter production immediately and are fitted into vehicles.  At that point we have to explain to our customers we have failed containment, or rather, we've checked them but they're going to have to take our word for it.

    If later the part is discovered with a fault (usually at a car dealership) we are liable for the new part and the rework activity.

    Kind regards

    Nathan

  • 0
    Avatar
    Nathan Lewis

    Hi Danielle,

    Currently the messages presented to the user of the android app look the same (font, layout, colour).

    Maybe they could be formatted so that at a glance you can tell which message is telling you you're about to submit your data and which is warning you you're about to lose everything.

    Just an idea. It's not a perfect fix but...

     

  • 0
    Avatar
    Chris Barsoum

    Hello,

    Would be very interested in this for our iOS platform. Even though a feature has been inputted to confirm, users still may be keen to "submit" and not read the message and continue to discard.

    Are there any other options available for the iOS platform? Perhaps hiding the discard button for certain users/forms? or maybe changing the order that the buttons appear, i.e. having submit on the top and discard on the bottom? or making the discard option smaller?

    Regards,

    Chris

Please sign in to leave a comment.